Daisy Bell (by Harry Dacre, 1892)

1892-daisy-bell-harry-dacre

There is a flower within my heart
Daisy, Daisy!
Planted one day by a passing dance
Planted by Daisy Bell
Whether she loves me or loves me not
Sometimes it’s hard to tell
There are others quite willing to share the lot
Of elequent Daisy Bell.

Daisy, Daisy, give me your answer, do,
I’m half crazy all for the love of you
It won’t be a stylish marriage
I can’t afford the carriage
But you’d look sweet on the seat
Of a bicycle built for two

We will go tandem as man and wife
Daisy, Daisy!
Peddling our way down the road of life,
I and my Daisy Bell.
When the night’s dark we can both despise,
Policemen and lamps as well.
They are never as willing to share the love
of my delicate Daisy Bell.

Daisy, Daisy, give me your answer, do
I’m half crazy all for the love of you
It won’t be a stylish marraige
I can’t afford the carriage
But you’ll look sweet on the seat
Upon the seat of a bicycle built for two

These are the lyrics my dad and Grandfather sany to me, there are other verses too and I will ask my Dad and Uncles if they remember them – I will post if they do. Below is a little information and also a link to an old recording of it.  Ironically in the recording he appears to sing the lyrics my family sang, but it’s written up differently. I’ll let you decide which you think was sung…

 

Harry Dacre was the pen-name of Frank Dean (1857–1922), an English Songwriter, who move to the USA.

Dacre had a hit in 1892 with the song “Daisy Bell” (aka “A Bicycle Built for Two”).

 

Leave a Reply

