Poetry Please thank you C A Duffy

I promised poetry and I have it in my clipboard so best paste it before I forget or over-copy it…. I heard well read this on the forum whilst doing my catch-up. I thought it was a lovely poem so thought I would share it with you all – though I now think I will post in a seperate post to give it it’s full glory…

Stealing

by Carol Ann Duffy

The most unusual thing I ever stole? A snowman.

Midnight. He looked magnificent; a tall, white mute

beneath the winter moon. I wanted him, a mate

with a mind as cold as the slice of ice

within my own brain. I started with the head.

Better off dead than giving in, not taking

what you want. He weighed a ton; his torso,

frozen stiff, hugged to my chest, a fierce chill

piercing my gut. Part of the thrill was knowing

that children would cry in the morning. Life’s tough.

Sometimes I steal things I don’t need. I joy-ride cars

to nowhere, break into houses just to have a look.

I’m a mucky ghost, leave a mess, maybe pinch a camera.

I watch my gloved hand twisting the doorknob.

A stranger’s bedroom. Mirrors. I sigh like this – Aah.

It took some time. Reassembled in the yard,

he didn’t look the same. I took a run

and booted him. Again. Again. My breath ripped out

in rags. It seems daft now. Then I was standing

alone among lumps of snow, sick of the world.

Boredom. Mostly I’m so bored I could eat myself.

One time, I stole a guitar and thought I might

learn to play. I nicked a bust of Shakespeare once,

flogged it, but the snowman was the strangest.

You don’t understand a word I’m saying, do you?Screen Shot 2016-01-06 at 23.50.32.png

4 thoughts on “Poetry Please thank you C A Duffy

      1. It is isnt it. the lady that posted it said she thought it was very angry and distressing but still liked it as it reminded her of the ways people can become. I can see that but to me it is very ironic and quite comical.

Leave a Reply

